Indented bullets in an htmlText field in Flash

Just a quick code snippet example that solves a problem that sometimes comes up when bulleted text is required in an htmlText field with an inline indent per bullet. The indent of the bullet and the bullet text can be controlled by changing the indent, blockindent and tabstop values. I have added returns to see the code more easily.

<textformat blockindent='20' indent='-20' tabstops='[20]'>
<p>β€’<tab>text content will indent per bullet. text content will indent per bullet. text content will indent per bullet. text content will indent per bullet. text content will indent per bullet. text content will indent per bullet.</p>
<p>β€’<tab>text content will indent per bullet. text content will indent per bullet. text content will indent per bullet. text content will indent per bullet. text content will indent per bullet. text content will indent per bullet.</p>
</textformat>
9 comments so far

  1. Lithel on

    Hi Sambrick!

    I am a random internet person who found this amazingly useful. I just wanted to let you know that.

    • sambrick on

      Hey Lithel,

      Thanks for the comment, I am really glad it helped πŸ™‚

  2. NAZ on

    Man! you just saved my day, i was trying to fix the indent! thanks! thanks a lot!

  3. Graham on

    I sorely wish I had found this out earlier! Very useful.

    • sambrick on

      Hi Graham, glad you found it useful…. The inline indented bullet can be a real pain in the ass but this more often than not solves it.

  4. Andy at Studio i on

    I was searching for a solution and found this. Very helpful! But the coolest part was when I realized that it’s your blog! Haha, when you coming back to SF? πŸ™‚

    • sambrick on

      Andy! Glad it was of use πŸ™‚ Funnily enough Charles did the same as you on another post…… trawling the web for a solution and ended up here, then realised it was me. Ha.

      When am I coming back to SF? Anytime you guys need me! I am making a trip to head office soon but am not gonna make it to SF this time. Hope you are well.

  5. Lawrie on

    Just what I was looking for. Thanks for posting this πŸ™‚

  6. Ben on

    You’re the man. V helpful. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

